My Oscar Picks

Note: I’m not going to be going through every category, just the ones that I have an opinion on. I watch a lot of movies, but not enough to comment on every single category.

LEADING ACTOR

Who Should Win: Jeff Bridges

Who Will Win: Colin Firth

The King’s Speech is THE “Oscar Bait” film this year and it is going to rack up a whole mess of awards, but I always want Jeff Bridges to get credit when credit is due. His performance in True Grit was fantastic and he deserves some recognition for it.

SUPPORTING ACTOR

Who Should Win: Christian Bale

Who Will Win: Christian Bale

As much as I liked Barbossa in The King’s Speech, Crack-Head Batman is going to win this one.

LEADING ACTRESS

Who Should Win: Natalie Portman

Who Will Win: Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman had all of us convinced that she was going crazy, she’s going to win. No other performance this year was nearly as amazing as her’s in Black Swan.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Who Should Win: Hailee Steinfeld

Who Will Win: Melissa Leo

Why is it that main characters in a movie get put into the “Supporting” category? I’ve never understood this. Is it because they’re not always big name stars? Anyway, this is one of the first categories in which I would be fine with either of the two listed winning. Both of them had fantastic performances, and both deserve to win. Melissa Leo made us all hate her in The Fighter, and Hailee Steinfeld made us want her to kill Josh Brolin in True Grit.

ANIMATED FEATURE

Who Should Win: Toy Story 3

Who Will Win: Toy Story 3

Seriously, Toy Story 3 was nominated for Best Picture, it’s going to win. Period.

ART DIRECTION

Who Should Win: Alice in Wonderland

Who Will Win: Inception

I will admit, Alice in Wonderland wasn’t the best thing ever, but it was amazingly designed. It was such a twist on what everyone expects when they hear the name Alice in Wonderland.

DIRECTING

Who Should Win: Darren Aronofsky

Who Will Win: Tom Hooper

Once again, the Oscar Bait is going to take the category, but Darren Aronofsky should win due to just how amazing Black Swan was to watch.

FILM EDITING

Who Should Win: Black Swan

Who Will Win: Black Swan

Anyone notice the flashes of Natalie Portman in her Black Swan make-up throughout the movie? No? Watch it again and pay more attention to the subliminal messages.

ORIGINAL SCORE

Who Should Win: Hans Zimmer

Who Will Win: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. The score for Inception is far too experimental for it to actually win, which is a damn shame.

ORIGINAL SONG

Who Should Win: “I See the Light”

Who Will Win: “If I Rise”

With this category, I always just pick the songs I like the best, so I want “I See the Light” or “We Belong Together” to win, but my picks never seem to win this one.

ANIMATED SHORT FILM

Who Should Win: Day and Night

Who Will Win: Day and Night

It was wildly experimental and had a fantastic message, it was also the only reason to see Toy Story 3 in 3D.

SOUND EDITING

Who Should Win: TRON: Legacy

Who Will Win: Inception

The Sound Editing category should just be renamed “Best Geek Movie” as those are the movies that always seem to win. Here’s a history lesson, previous winners: Goldfinger, Close Encounters of a Third Kind, Star Wars, Raiders of the Lost Ark, ET, Back to the Future, Aliens, RoboCop, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, Terminator 2, Jurassic Park, The Matrix, Lord of the Rings: the Two Towers, Incredibles, King Kong. I believe I have proved my point.

VISUAL EFFECTS

Who Should Win: Inception

Who Will Win: Inception

Remember that scene where Joseph Gordon Levitt was fighting people in the hotel hallway that was spinning? Yeah, Inception has this one in the bag.

TRON: Legacy should have been nominated, though. Dicks.

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Who Should Win: Toy Story 3

Who Will Win: The Social Network

Why is Toy Story 3 in the Adapted Screenplay section? It’s not adapted from anything!

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Who Should Win: Inception

Who Will Win: Inception

This movie was brilliantly written, and it should be recognized as such.

BEST PICTURE

Who Should Win: Toy Story 3

Who Will Win: The King’s Speech

I saw the King’s Speech, and while it was a fantastic movie, I did not really like it quite as much as other films I saw this year. The “Oscar Bait” movies always rub me the wrong way as I have always found them to be rather pertentious, so it’s always been hard for me to root for them for Best Picture.

Leave a Reply

