Lions, and Warthogs, and Beasts, Oh My.

This is a trend in 3D that I might be able to get behind and I’ll tell you why:

Disney’s cel and hand animated movies use the multiplane camera to simulate depth. If the 3D conversion actually uses those inherent levels, seeing the film in 3D could actually be worthwhile and I could actually add it to the very short list of films that I have seen in 3D that I have actually worked in 3D (those movies are TRON: Legacy, Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Christmas, and James Cameron’s Wahvatar (seriously, I hate that movie with the white hot intensity of a thousand suns, but the 3D actually worked))

The Lion King 3D will be in theaters only for 2 weeks starting on September , 2011 and will be released on Blu-Ray in both 2D and 3D versions on October 4th and a 3D Blu-Ray release of Beauty and the Beast is scheduled to follow, but no actual date has been scheduled.

Leave a Reply

